predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#1
Hey guys,
some time ago I bought a second hand Blackstar Ht-5 head (the old version without reverb) but I didn't have the money for a cab to go with it yet. So during that time I've been practicing with the emulated output. But now I've gotten myself the Ht-408 to go with it and the amps speaker output doesn't seem to be working. I tried the cab out with a solid state amp and it worked, so it isn't the speaker cable or jack input causing the trouble but the Ht-5 head. The emulated output works just fine but there isn't any sound coming out of the cabinet when they're connected. Only if I turn the volume all the way up can I start hearing something and it sounds like a really bad fuzz pedal.

After quick googleing I found this, its about having a cab connected even when you're only using the emulated output, which I didn't do...
http://www.blackstaramps.com/support/faqs-answer.php?ID=11

Did I mess up my Blackstar head this way? What should I do next? Its not covered by any warranty as it is second hand. Should I contact Blackstar for help or find an amp repair technician?
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#2
did you have it set to standby?
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#4
no i mean when you were using it. that link advised setting the amp to standby (i think) when using it in the way you said.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#5
well yeah but no sound would come out of the emulated output if the amp is on standby. This is part of the confusion I'm having
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#6
ah ok.

yeah that is a weird one. I'd contact blackstar to see what they say.
Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


festivalinhell
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2010
105 IQ
#7
Sounds like you fried the output dude... Luckily if you look inside youll see there are no power tubes to bias. (Trying to be positive.) It's a solid state power section so if that is what it is it's probably a blown transformer and thats... well to be honest it probably is worth your money just to upgrade to a different amp with all tubes.
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
Join date: Dec 2009
4,843 IQ
#8
did you pull the headphones out when you connected the speakers?
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#9
Quote by festivalinhell
Sounds like you fried the output dude... Luckily if you look inside youll see there are no power tubes to bias. (Trying to be positive.) It's a solid state power section so if that is what it is it's probably a blown transformer and thats... well to be honest it probably is worth your money just to upgrade to a different amp with all tubes.

Huh? It has a solid state phase inverter but the 12BH7 is the power tube. It's a dual triode running in class A/B.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
Join date: Mar 2005
2,967 IQ
#10
^ +1

and it has to be biased.

Quote by classicrocker01
Only on UG would I say I got engaged and bought a jet city and get congratulated on the amp


gregs1020
Hi mom!
Join date: Dec 2007
10,786 IQ
#11
Quote by AcousticMirror
did you pull the headphones out when you connected the speakers?

i was wondering this too.
Quote by Roc8995
I don't think I've ever played anything in black walnut. It's a great ice cream flavor, so I assume it works well for a strat too.

Quote by JustRooster
The slugs in the pickups for telecasters are from old winchester rifles, which is why they sound so country.
predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#12
Quote by AcousticMirror
did you pull the headphones out when you connected the speakers?


I don't know, by now I've already plugged and unplugged things to check to see whether they were working and I can't remember that exact moment. I just didn't think I had to have the cab plugged in while I play with headphones, seemed a bit silly.
predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#13
So I guess I need to get some guy to repair it?
gregs1020
Hi mom!
Join date: Dec 2007
10,786 IQ
#14
Quote by predz91
So I guess I need to get some guy to repair it?

what did blackstar customer service say?

Quote by Roc8995
I don't think I've ever played anything in black walnut. It's a great ice cream flavor, so I assume it works well for a strat too.

Quote by JustRooster
The slugs in the pickups for telecasters are from old winchester rifles, which is why they sound so country.
predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#15
Haven't replied yet, sent the e-mail yesterday during the day though.
predz91
Registered User
Join date: Jan 2012
212 IQ
#16
small update: theres a slight wrong smelling burn coming out of the amp too, oh god what have I done to it...
Robbgnarly
Tab Contributor
Join date: Feb 2011
1,177 IQ
#17
You fried the OT.
If you run a tube amp with no speaker load you fry the OT. It will probably cost $150+ to have it repaired.

Just for future refrence YOU CAN NOT RUN A TUBE AMP WITH OUT A SPEAKER LOAD ON IT or you will have a broken amp
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
Join date: Oct 2009
2,565 IQ
#18
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
My band