slapfunk_101
495 IQ
Hey. I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I find that my blues improv has gotten a bit stale. I know that when soloing for blues one can use both the major and minor pentatonic to spice it up. I was wondering when I can switch between the two mid-solo. Can I do it all willy-nilly and mid-lick? Only on chord changes? If so under what circumstances? I also have heard of people using a mixolodyian (or something) scale in there too... how would I utilize that? Any guidance is appreciated! Thanks.
Angusman60
I think, therefore, I am.
987 IQ
Depending on the song, the IV chord often lends itself to major pentatonic.
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
HotspurJr
191 IQ
There are some good lessons about mixing pentatonics on Mike Dodge's web site.
Gaz351
58 IQ
Mixolydian is one of the modes. Basically it's a major scale with a flatted 7th, you would use it to play over IV chords like in a 12 bar blues.
Every thread i post in dies...
Sakke
Chaser of 'Tone'
909 IQ
Not that you probably don't know it, the Blues Scale helps.
Gear pics

Quote by Cathbard
Bugera cloning Blackstar is a scandal cloaked in a tragedy making love to a nightmare.

Angusman60
I think, therefore, I am.
987 IQ
Quote by Gaz351
Mixolydian is one of the modes. Basically it's a major scale with a flatted 7th, you would use it to play over IV chords like in a 12 bar blues.

Mixolydian also work nicely over V.
2010 Gibson SG Honeyburst
I'm a musician, a composer, and a theory nut. Pleased to meet you! Check out my websites and drop me a line.

"The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude. " ~ Freidrich Nietzche

My Website
macashmack
Maskcashmack
3,359 IQ
For simplicities sake i like to think like this
in a major blues:
over the I major pentatonic