So I've not been at the top of my game musically today and, of course, I had piano class today. We started learning Moonlight Sonata at my request and I could NOT keep up. The reason for this, I realized, was because I kept finding myself lost. Like I couldn't keep up with what measure/arpeggio I was on. I totally embarrassed myself. I'm no expert at sight-reading, but I can usually at least remember where I am and this was plain awful.

Long story short:
Tips for not getting lost while reading music.
Maybe count measures if that helps you?

Otherwise, you should try to look at the keyboard as little as possible.
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
I mean for the most part the song is just eighth notes (the right hand at least) so it may just be looking at endless sea of eighth notes that confuses me.
Quote by gunsnroses#1
I mean for the most part the song is just eighth notes (the right hand at least) so it may just be looking at endless sea of eighth notes that confuses me.
Well then, you probably don't need to subdivide. You should definitely count beats though. This will help you keep track of measures.
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
I would count beats, but even more so, I would count them out loud as you play. Before you play, clap the beats of the notes as you say the rhythm.

eg. for a measure in 4/4 if the notes were quarter, 1/8, 1/8, half you would do the following

count out loud: 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and
clap on beats: 1, 2, 2 and, 3

Does that make sense? You feel mega special when you do this, but my piano teachers always made me do this and it helped so much and still does now (12 years later)