After looking through many, many build threads, I've finally decided to make an attempt on building my own guitar.

I plan on building a tele... primarily for metal

I have extensive experience with power tools and have access to them.

Is my list complete/possible? I understand hardware limitations such as TOM bridges requiring angled necks and so on.

I will make my first attempts on some cheap plywood first but...

My build tops out at $800 (I can go much higher)

-Mahogany/Alder/Basswood Body blank
-Gotoh Humbucker Tele Bridge
-Black dome knob x2
-Guitar String Ferrules
-Neck Mounting Plate/Neck Ferrules + Screws
-Humbucker Mounting Ring Black (Metal or Plastic)
-Black humbucker mounting ring screws x4
-Oval Jack Plate black
-Strap Buttons black
-Strap Button Felt Washers
-Sperzel Tuners
-Duncan Distortion + 59 (Salvaged from old guitar)

Finishing:
-Grain filler if mahogany
-Stain (either from stewmac or local)

I have access to laquer + spray equipment

I have left the neck out because I'm wondering if I should simply order from warmoth and do finish coats on my own. Or build from scratch (depending on difficulty)

Sorry for huge post, because I don't want to be tossing $800+ out of the window
???
Last edited by solidrane at Mar 6, 2013,
Quote by -MintSauce-
If you don't mind me asking, where did the $800 figure come from?

Also, have you considered ash?

The price of 800 came from running around ontario (canada) looking for hardware, and wood. Sifting through stewmac, warmoth, allparts + so much much more. resulting in a lowest possible price of 750 but I'll allow up to +$300 as tolerance. It would be a hell lot more if I didn't have guitars to salvage + tools to borrow

Sadly I haven't played many ash guitars in my time, luckily ash is quite plentiful around canada. I'll consider it heavily.
???
Last edited by solidrane at Mar 6, 2013,