So I am relatively new to the guitar (acoustic); I have about 10 good chords I'm comfortable with and can play about 15 songs.

But I've never gotten a capo until now, and I don't know why I ever waited. This thing is amazing.

I spent about $20 and got one of those nice ones that just clips on and off, with no screwing or adjustment necessary, and it was a key purchase.

Not only does it seem that every darn song I want to learn these days transposes with one, but it also makes previously impossible songs possible to play.

I have been struggling trying to get the chords to "Why Don't You & I" down for a while now with limited success. I was going off of a tab that recommended I use Bb-F-Gm-D#.

But those chords are HARD, especially for someone who's not very good, and on acoustic to boot. Hitting the Bb-F-Gm-D# requires a lot of wrist strength and good technique to consistently (and quickly) bar and hit the notes.

The capo, however, turns this thing to easy mode. If you just bar the first fret: magic. A-E-F#m-D

Even a rookie like me can manage that, and now I can focus on the singing, which is why I wanted to learn it in the first place.

So I know that some of the old hats here might look down on it, but I just wanted to share how excited I am to have one. I suddenly feel like there's so many possibilities that weren't there before.
So you're using a capo as a crutch since you can't play the chords with your hands. Bad idea.

Also, this isn't even close to being the right place for this.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Quote by TotallyDavis