Hello!

I'm a beginner and would like to learn the notes of the fretboard. Any tips (or websites/books) on how to best learn this?

I'd also like to start learning music theory and wanted to ask for a book recommendation. I'm pretty sure, I won't get bored by music theory at all, but want to avoid learning too much theoretical stuff, which in the end won't help my actual guitar playing or songwriting. So a book on theory, but with a practical focus would be great.

Thanks for any help!
giutar
As for learning your fretboard:
1) Practice scales
2) Practice scales
3) Practice scales

Also think in advance, so how the note you're about to play will sound.

As for music theory. Don't know what you already know, but start with the basics:
http://www.musictheory.net/

There's plenty of stuff on the internet. If you really want to explore more specific areas of music theory (for example counterpoint, four-part harmony etc) you always can buy books.

But in general basically everything that's considered basic can be found on the internet.
Hi giutar,

With regard to theory, all the information is out there but you should really get a good teacher. It's important to apply theory and make practical use of it every step of the way.

To learn the fretboard, just remember that B-C is one fret and E-F is one fret. Knowing this and the names of the strings you can count along the string to the note your looking for and get it right every time.

Try writing all 12 notes on a piece of paper in a random order e.g. :

E B D Bb F A Eb C Gb Ab G Db

...and then find them all on the 6th string. Repeat, then try it on the 5th string, and so on. You could try it with a metronome too for extra discipline.

I find that students find it easiest to count up the way I described 'E-F is one fret, F-G is two frets...' and then add the sharp or flat at the end.

I hope that helps.