I'm a gigging Metal guitarist currently playing A Blackstar ht-100 through a marshall 1960 cab with the t-75's, and I'm looking to find a new amp (I can't stand the diode overdrive; it feels very artificial). I've heard many great things about the newer versions of the Bugera 333xl's, the ones that don't catch on fire lol. What's everyone's opinion on it?

Here's the thing: The other guitarist in my band has a Bugera 6262, and he's been trying to stray me away from Bugera because he says that us having the same amp will kind of take away a broad range of tones. While this seems logical, I feel like it's partly because he feels like I'm copying him. But the truth is, we're broke teenagers who can't afford mesas and engl's, and it seems like Bugera is one of the best when it comes to affordability.

So my question is, will us having similar amp take away from our overall sound? And if so, can anyone recommend any alternatives?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: Alright, let me give some more info.

Budget: I'd like to stay around 5-600, as I'd like to pay for it mainly through the gear that I'm already selling.

Genre: Simply metal. As you can see from my username, I ****ing love Opeth, and their tone is amazing. I was looking into Laneys for awhile after I heard they play them but I'm in the US so it's hard to come by a used one. And yes, I play clean sections in my songs so it'd be nice to have a good clean tone.

Definitely wanna go used on buying amps.

I play shows all the time so take that into consideration.

Kansas City is the closest city to me.

As said before, I have an HT-100 and a 1960a cab, and I play mainly through a Dean Cadillac with a dimebucker in it atm.
Last edited by GodIloveOpeth at Mar 9, 2013,
To answer your basic question.

No it won't take away from the overall sound. Amps can be EQ'd in different ways and those two amps have different circuits anyway. Your tone won't be his tone etc.

Yes there are alternatives.