In technical death metal, where the music is rather complex.
I was wondering what was the most common types of time signatures?
What other attributes should I know about this genre?
It's more of a research kind of thing for me, thanks UG
Yes I studied "Death and Cannibal corpse.
I've also noticed that, a lot of harmonizing is usually up 3 half steps regardless of key.
It really gives off that evil vibe.
Honestly, you'll see more polyrhythms in death metal than you will see wacky time sigs.
Join the 7 String Legion!

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn.

Messiaen is Magical

Official Approval
This message has been approved by:

Mister A.J.
Head of the Department of Redundancy Department
Mister A.J.
i just think about it in riff patterns. like one section of twiddle-twiddle-twiddle plus two repetitions of bum-ba-bum-ba again and again, or something.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Not so much wacky time sigs, although you can have riffs that might do a few measures of say 3/4 then a measure of 5/4 or whatever, This Mortal Coil by Carcass for example.
Its mostly 4/4, 3/4, 5/4, 9/8, 12/8 kinda stuff
METAL!
4/4 and 6/8 are still the most common, just like in other styles of metal. Sometimes there'll be odd grouping off measure, like, a riff being 7 measure of 6/8 or something. Often the riffs will be in 4/4, and the second time through there'll be an extra 5/4 measure on the end doing some fiddly-diddly shit, or something like that.
Necrophagist do a lot of wacky stuff. Stabwound alternates between 4/4, 3/4, 5/8, 2/4 with a bit of 7/8, but it's mostly the phrasing and speed that makes it sound complex.
Also Gorguts are ridiculous in every way. Listen to the title track of Obscura and get a good tab.