First off. I want to share that I am a guitar newbie. I have been learning slowly for about 6 months now. I have a Peavey Delta Blues 210 combo amp that I am very happy with. Recently I have been struggling with the decision of whether to add a Classic 50 212 or 410 to my gear, My concern is that it will prove to be too similar to my Delta Blues and therefore a redundant addition...

That got me thinking about adding an extension cab instead of another amp, and I'll wait to add new amps later when I have gained more experience and can play my instruments better. The cab I'm looking at is a Mesa/Boogie 212 recto cab.

Has anyone here Paired the Delta Blues with the Mesa/Boogie recto before? Please share your experience or your thoughts on this pairing. My amp has a 16ohm 1/4" out.

Thanks for sharing.
So, why exactly do you want a cab?

I have a mesa 212, its a great can. It does have a lot of mid range.

The delta blues has a 115 speaker, so adding a couple 12" speakers will sound good with the 15". It wont make you much louder, but it will help fill up your sound.

I do like the V30's that come in the mesa cabs, but like I said, they are a little too focused on the mid range for my liking. I ended up taking one of the v30's out of my mesa cab, and putting a eminence cannabis rex speaker in there. The c-rex has a tight bottom end, and a smooth top end, so it compliments the v30 well... IMO

Edit: Before I bought my mesa, I went and rented one for a week for like $10, just so I could see what it sounded like with my amps. It's a lot cheaper to do that then to buy something you dont really want...
Guitars:
PRS Custom 24
Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute
85' MIJ Strat
97' Snakepit Les Paul
LP Traditional 1960 Zebra
MIJ Tele
MIA Strat

Amps:
Silver Jubilee 2525
Peavey Ultra 112
Jet City JCA50H
66' Bassman
Pink Paisley Princeton RV
74' Vibro Champ
Last edited by red.guitar at Mar 10, 2013,
Quote by red.guitar