Hi there I'm a beginner guitar player , I have a Telecaster and a Digitech RP200 Multi-Effects pedal. I really like to play Nirvana's music , but rp200's distortion is noisy , fuzzy and fake . So i want to buy a distortion pedal and use the rp200 just for the other effects . I know Kurt used a Boss DS-1 , but price + shipping it to my contry goes around 75-80$ , and i'm in a really tight budget . So can you suggest me a pedal that goes close to te ds-1 sound for less then 40$ ? I dont want to buy a FAB or a Behringer , but i was hoping the JOYO CRUNCH DISTORTION would give me the ds-1 sound ? Is the JOYO CD too crunchy for Nirvana's sound ? Is it more suited for metal ? Should i buy a JOYO Ultimate Drive instead ? I guess these are the only decent pedals i can afford , that are shipping worldwide . Thanks in advance
I live in Albania . I've found some good prices on ebay for the ds-1 , but i'd really be curious to know if one of the JOYOs would give me the sound i want ? I dont trust used stuff (plus most of them don't ship here)
Last edited by Slim-Shady at Mar 14, 2013,
Never used a JOYO and I feel the same way about used stuff. But in my opinion if the pedal that Kurt used is cheap enough, retail and used, why not spend just a little more for the exact pedal he used instead of a replica? Not trying to persuade you to buy it, just giving you some food for thought.
What kind of amp are you using?
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
what amp are you using? (sorry if i missed it) but i did see the processor.

i have heard of a lot of issues with the joyo. supposedly they are good at getting you a new unit out, but i don't know if that would apply to where you are.