Page 1 of 2
So, I've been an attorney for around 15 years and I'm totally burned out on it. Never made partner, take orders from guy who does not really know how to handle cases very well, or manage his firm, which is frustrating. Kind of an "office space" situation.

The frustration I feel at work seeps into my personal life, affects my time with wife, kids. A week ago, I basically pulled an "American Beauty" move, giving boss 2 weeks notice because I'm spent, depressed, etc. (only realized this is sort of like guy in that movie last night, and we know that did not end all that well for Kevin Spacey). Maybe with some time to clear my head, this will seem like big mistake, but they say insanity is doing the same thing over and over hoping for different results, and staying at this job right now seems insane to me.

There's some book I read long ago called, "Who moved my cheese," about not being afraid to switch things up when you are not feeling fulfilled by your present course. Of course, the book was not written, specifically, for a family man with kids, mortgage in a recession.

I've been sort of brainstorming what I might do for money once I'm out of this job. These include:

1. Solo lawyer / start own practice. But it is risky in terms of how soon I'd get enough profit to pay bills. And, if I'm burned out being a lawyer, will this be any better than my present job? I'm thinking I might try to carve out a part-time solo practice working from den, if I can find clients that do not mind that sort of approach. Maybe even try to get work in music industry (though most of my experience is in litigation).

2. Freelance writer / novelist, etc.

3. Artist (have done glass fusion, chalk drawings, etc., for personal pleasure, not money).

4. Manager for kids (get them signed with talent agency, try to get them modeling / acting gigs)