Page 1 of 2
Ok, this is probably going to make me sound like a hater but.... Why are so many people obsessed with strats and teles? Obviously each to their own, and of course a good one is built well and will play like a dream but in my mind it's almost like why not go with something that has a little more character, if that makes sense to anyone.

Again, I'm not knocking them, it's just so so so many people seem to be obsessed about them when as nice as they may play I can't really see what's so special about them, they don't stand out and have any real wow factor to them IMO at least. For example if you were to ask most people that didn't play guitar to think of an electric they'd probably picture a strat.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm no newbie with guitar, I've been playing 18 years or so, and as the above should infer I have nothing against strats and teles, they do play well and I can see their worth, and in fact I learnt to play on a strat copy but I just don't get why so many flock to them when there is greater variety to be had.

Of course the biggest factor is going to be personal preference, so I guess really what this is about is what do people that love strats and/or teles find so appealing about them?
Last edited by NotTheMessiah30 at Mar 21, 2013,
One reason could be that the Tele has been around for 63 years, and the Strat for 57 years. Hell, your ESP Horizon and Jackson PPS2 are super-STRAT guitars. They are THE guitars, along with Gibson LP's, IMO, that are the cornerstone for electric guitar.

People think of a Tele or Strat first because they were one of the first few major guitar styles ever made.
Caution:
This post may contain my opinion and/or inaccurate information.

Current Rig:
2006 PRS CE-24
Mesa/Boogie Mark V
Voltage S212 w/ V30's
Strymon Timeline
CMATMods Signa Drive
TC Electronics Corona & Hall of Fame