So I understand the modes and how they relate to (are) the major scale. I fairly recently learned the patterns for all of them starting on the root note...7 patterns working my way up the neck.

But I just came across the "5 major scale patterns." First off, I can't believe this is my first time seeing this. But in thinking about it...if I know where the root note is for a given scale/mode...is it even necessary to know the 7 mode patterns starting on the root?

Would seem I could cover everything with the 5 patterns?

May be a dumb question...but wanted to ask...
The major scale contains 7 notes, therefore there are 7 different notes to start on which will form 7 different box patterns. What you have inadvertently learned as "modes" is really just the same major scale, only played in different positions. For example, if you play a C major progression & play all of those mode patterns over the top of it, then you are still just playing the major scale over it.

For the 5 pattern thing, I would assume that they are talking about just using only 5 of the 7 patterns, because some of them do overlap more than others.

Don't worry about the misunderstanding because it happens a lot to guitarists trying to learn theory (myself included) & there is a lot of misinformation out there on the subject. Modes is a subject of heated debate on this forum because it is an ancient concept that has permeated it's way back into music in various different forms so that now there are pretty much so many definitions for what people think they are that no one can agree on anything about them or their use in modern music.