I haven't seen this subject approached on the site anywhere, so I'm asking:

I am thinking of building an electric guitar from a kit, mainly just for something to do. I have no experience in guitar building, and little in wood working. I do have experience in wood furniture finishing and restoration, which I'm guessing would help a bit. I know how to solder.

Is this worth doing, or is it a waste of money? I'd love to hear everyone's opinions and/or recommendations on the subject.
Ive done it. I dont think its a waste of money at all. That said, depending on where you get your kit, your project may be great, or may be a headache. I got an ebay kit, pretty cheap. Ended up having to make many mods to it, and so many of the parts were cheap, so I ended up spending a bunch to upgrade everything. (trem, pups, nut, electronics, truss cover etc.)
If you go through warmoth or something, thats not worth it in a different way. Everything they do is so good that it wont be too much of a project for you, just assembly.

If you just want building experience, get the cheapest kit you can find that has reasonable woods. If you want a custom quality guitar, sourcing parts from warmoth or a luthier will likely yield a better end product. Either way, be ready for more time and more expense than you expect.
Quote by knifeboy
I haven't seen this subject approached on the site anywhere, so I'm asking:
Seriously? This question gets asked here regularly, like once every couple of weeks or so. Granted the forum search tools can be frustrating, but even so a quick search in this forum for "kit build" reveals:

03-15-2013 https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1591735&highlight=kit+build
03-05-2013 https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1591102&highlight=kit+build
28-02-2013 https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1590399&highlight=kit+build