So I am a total noob at everything amp building related, but I was wondering if this is at all possible. I want to make a 3 channel amp head; Clean, Drive and Distortion. But I want the clean to be based on a Fender '57 Deluxe, the drive channel to be based a Marshall JVM410H, and the Distortion channel to be based on the ENGL E530 preamp or Fireball head. Each channel would have individual EQ's and their own volume (in addition to a master, of course.) and a Noise Gate that is only active on the Drive and Distortion channels instead of a presence control. Am I punching WAY above my weight here?
Well it's doable but it'd be a hell of a lot of doing. Plus you'd be looking at an ungodly amount of tubes. I'd say that you're looking at a huge battle here if you want to do this and you've never built an amp before.
Quote by R45VT
Bastards.
i think what you should do is build three different amplifiers with a footswitch to route your signals. but yes, it's possible. i dont know if YOU can, because you only described yourself as a "total noob".
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works

Custom Hand-wired Amplifiers and Effect Pedals.

Est. 2007

Source to everything I say about Guitars, Pedals, and Amplifiers: I make them.

UG's Best DIY PedalBoard
Is it hard to just make a two channel amp with just a basic clean tone and a Marshall-y overdrive?
Sorry if I'm being a heathen here, but isn't this the sort of problem amp modelling multi-fx units are supposed to address?

Of course it wouldn't be quite the same as the real thing and nowhere near as impressive-looking. But they're a lot more convenient.

Otherwise, I'd say EC has the right plan.
it really depends how good you want it to sound, how much money you're gonna pour into this project, and how much time you're willing to spend. you'll need a LOT of new tools if you've never done this before.