Don't know if this would belong in recording or songwriting, so please let me know.

Being a solo artist, my musical process involves diving straight into demo recording and building upon each layer from there. However, alot of limitations within DAW and amp emulators prevent me from finding crucial sounds. So, would it be feasible to do the same thing in a real studio(That is, building upon a base layer as I go along), or would it be better to just suck it up and use demo placeholders?
Oh, man... for the love of God, take your time and work your compositions and parts out at home.

I run a project studio. If someone called me up for recording time, I would tell them the same thing. Oh, sure, I'll sit there and hit record and dial in settings all day long at $25/hr as long as you'll let me, but geez.... I honestly have to say I doubt I would enjoy it.

Reason 1 - I'm taking your money and not offering you much of a product in return.

Reason 2 - It would be tedious as f**king hell. It would be like sitting there all day for hours and hours handing someone brushes and rinsing out their water as they sat and painted all day. Kill me now. Meh... at least I'm getting $25/hr for it. *grimace* What time is it?

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
Quote by roaraudio
TS you'd also have to work with an engineer who enjoys producing.

I would be inclined to say he is better finding an engineer who can hit the record button in his sleep and enjoys sleeping on the job