Hello,

I've been playing guitar for about 15 years so I know the difference between standard and open tunings. When I learned, I learned on standard and it's the tuning I use the most even though I know how to play in others.

My question is why did the standard tuning become standard? It seems like it's deliberatly complicating our lives as musicians, much as the QWERTY keyboard was designed to slow people down.

It seems that any open tuning would be a better starting place for a begginer since basic chords are more accessible and if you're going to have to learn scales and chord patterns for years anyways, might as well use a more accessible tuning.

I understand the thinking that an open tuning might limit our creativity to that particular chord but most guitarists think in E anyways so I don't think it would limit us that much...

Plus it would mean that young musicians who are learning how to tune their instruments would also be learning fundamental chord theory so it wouldn't be just random arbitrary knowledge, it would be useful information from day one of their classes.

What does UG think?
I think that part of what makes the standard tuning more palatable is how it separates a lot of scales and lead guitar work with 1 fret in between. I dunno if that makes sense or not, but it's definitely not just about chords.

Basically the tuning allows your ring finger and pointer finger to be comfortably spaced for most chord and scale situations. I think that's part of the reason it's considered "standard" but I honestly don't know the history.

Thought provoking question, for sure.
Paul Reed Smith CE-24 2005 and Santana SE with Seymour Duncan pickups.
Line 6 Amplifiers
Boss Effects and Steve Vai's Wah Pedal
Dunlop Picks and Elixir Strings .48

WEBSITE
https://www.guitarchalk.com
It's mainly so the fingering is easier, not so much for some open chords, but overall for scales and arpeggios etc.