I just started playing in a instrumental stoner band but I can't seem to find the right sound. I'm looking for some good fuzz or distortion pedals. For now I'm playing on an gibson sg, amp VOX AC30 with bb preamp, and alberta trex. Our influances are Sleep, russian circles, Pelican,...
The Vox is pretty much the opposite of what you want. You want something with a huge low end, lots of power amp headroom and no jangle. Matt Pike used Electric Amps back when he was in Sleep, IIRC. Orange/MatAmp are similar in character and a bit more available. I used to have a Thunderverb that was great for stoner/doom.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT

(512) Audio Engineering - Custom Pedal Builds, Mods and Repairs
Mike Sullivan and Brian Cook from Russian Circles both use Vrellen Meatsmokes when I saw them in Philly 2 weeks ago. Mike used to use a Sunn Model T reissue.

Pretty sure the guys from Pelican use JCM900s. You want something bigger, dude.
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L
Vox AC30 C2
Ampeg V2
pedals
My Peavey Studio Pro does great things.

I don't care what anyone says, I love the Peavey transtube amps. While I haven't played too many guitars, I have played through a lot of amps.
Laney AOR 50/100 great stoner amp ~$300ish used (sleep used these for years)
Peavey Butcher (the 1980's model)~$300ish
Peavey VTM 60/120 ~$250ish
Peavey Windsor ~$250ish
Orange AD30
Orange TH30/100
Sovtek MIG 50/100
Marshall JCM 900 SL-X
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 50/100
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by Bjjorn