Banjo? Sitar? Any guitarists have experience with these instruments?

I am one of those weirdos who loves the sound of the banjo and of the sitar. I want to ask guitarists who have picked up either of these instruments or both about how easy or hard it was to transfer your skills over. How much spillover was there, in other words.

I also love the oud as well.
Lois: How am I supposed to live in this town if I'm a social pariah?

Peter: What's that? That them little fish that eat cows?
I just started playing the banjo at christmas as I also love the sound. It's pretty easy if you're used to fingerpicking your acoustic, the only real barrier when you're starting is remembering that the string that should be the lowest note is actually the highest, so you're thumb is responsible for both the lowest and highest notes but it's no bigy really, have fun!
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
its a fretted string instrument, its the exact same i mean what could the difference even be other than learning a new tuning?

sitars are only more difficult in so far as the frets can be moved.
CuSO4

"I don't have an instrument, I don't have a great voice, I just have some nice clothes maybe." paul rutherford
I'm a banjo picker, as well as theogonia777 and banjocal. There's an official banjo thread in the acoustic forum. Go there.
Quote by JustRooster
I'm a banjo picker, as well as theogonia777 and banjocal. There's an official banjo thread in the acoustic forum. Go there.

Oh how that doesn't surprise me.
what's so "weirdo" about these?

weirdo is when you're a middle-aged workless fat person with a nasty beard and long oily hair who spends his life shredding "awesome" licks & shitwith some ugly*ss pointy guitar. (less ignorant than you're statement)