I am guessing that 3nps are good for legato runs. I started learning a Randy Rhoads solo and I think he uses that. Is this mainly used by metal guitarists and shredders?
Those shapes also lend themselves very well to picking runs as it keeps everything consistent across string sets. Patterns can be sequenced across the whole guitar with very little extra learning beyond getting the initial pattern under your fingers.

You'll find that almost every guitarist uses 3nps fingerings at some point because they're a very natural way of arranging scales. They keep everything generally in one position with minimal shifting and have no gaps as you ascend/descend scales unlike 2 note per string fingerings which miss notes and 4 note per string fingerings which require constant and large position shift and, unless your name is Allan Holdsworth, are very hard to play without sliding a lot.

What is the most important thing, really, is that you know the scales well enough that you can make a choice between all these ways of going about things as you need to. Obviously you'll need to practice to gain the physical facility to use them and for that I definitely say stick with 3nps shapes unless you're playing pentatonics or possibly diminished ideas.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Mark Tremonti mentions 3nps patterns a lot and he picked them up from somebody, but I can't remember who. It was probably somebody like Rusty Cooley, Troy Stetina, MAB, or someone else in what he calls his guitar circle, which are mostly metal players except for a couple.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr