it's my first time picking up my old guitar in a few years and i'm fairly rusty,
but I do remember a cool chord transition for picking, although I can't for the life of me think of all of them and this is where I need your help.
I know I've explained it poorly but here it how it goes for a transition to an "Em"

" any chord"
.......................... e:|------
...........................b:|------
...........................g:|------
...........................d:|------
...........................a:|------
...........................e:| -2-3-| "Em"

if you have any idea what im talking about and can help it'd be much appreciated!
thanks
Basically, you are just using a walking bass line to "walk" to your chords. My best advice would be to use your ear.

a hint:

The same pattern on the A string could get you to C major or A minor
I know I'm not doing a good job of explaining myself,
and to be honest jrenkert I'm surprised you understood what I'm trying to get at.
Thanks by the way.
Macabre, it wouldn't get me to a D for example,
I'm only getting back into the swing of things after a fairly long break and I remember it worked well but unfortunately I just don't have the "ear" for this kind of thing. I was just looking for a few outside opinions on it, thanks.
That kind of open chord thing is all over the place, check out "Stairway to Heaven" (i know right?)

another song that walks all up and down that is zeppelin is "Babe, I'm gonna leave you"

both are beginner/intermediate songs

Also maybe listen to some blues or jazz

I teach little kids all day, I've gotten good at deciphering peoples' rambling but thanks
Quote by poc 15k
I know I'm not doing a good job of explaining myself,
and to be honest jrenkert I'm surprised you understood what I'm trying to get at.
Thanks by the way.
Macabre, it wouldn't get me to a D for example,