best interface to record my electric guitars? hi-z alesis io26 vs stealthplug?!

legion69
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2010
350 IQ
#1
hello. in my studio i have an alesis io26 firewire interface, a presonus firepod interface, and also an amplitube stealthplug.
for the current project im working on, im using exclusively vst's (amplitube, guitar rig) and i am NOT recording a live amp.

will i get better quality/fidelity/results using the HI-Z input on my alesis, the HI-Z input on my presonus (i know it will sound 99.9% the same as the alesis) - both these units plug DIRECTLY into the DAW via FIREWIRE (nothing else in signal chain)

OR

should i use the stealthplug?!? what would you be doing?

latency doesnt need to be considered here as i have NO latency problems as is.
legion69
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2010
350 IQ
#2
Did I not explain that very well, or does nobody have an answer lol?
MatrixClaw
UG God
Join date: Nov 2006
10,723 IQ
#3
I'd go with the Presonus. The DI inputs from all of them should be fairly comparable, though I'd expect the Stealthplug to perform the worst, but the conversion on the Firepod is far superior to the Stealthplug. I don't have any experience with the IO26, but I know it had a lot of issues with drivers - Doesn't necessarily mean it sounds bad, though.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
legion69
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2010
350 IQ
#4
ya i realize the alesis and firepod both have the same quality pre-amps for the most part. picking between them is splitting hairs

im basically wondering if im going to get better sound using the USB stealthplug, or a HI-Z input on either of the interfaces.

sounds like the stealthplug loses


with that being said, anyone have any essential tips on getting professional sounding recordings with amplitube????
chatterbox272
Registered User
Join date: May 2011
1,237 IQ
#5
Quote by legion69
with that being said, anyone have any essential tips on getting professional sounding recordings with amplitube????

Bypass the inbuilt cabinets and use an external impulse and impulse loader. The impulses are the biggest weakness amplitube has, so by replacing them with something like the free RedWirez Marshall impulses, or Catharsis, or something out of the Sperimental Pack, will yield a huge improvement.
legion69
Registered User
Join date: Nov 2010
350 IQ
#6
whats an impulse? furthermore whats in impulse loader?! lol
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
Join date: Oct 2007
5,773 IQ
#7
Impulse is a cab emulation taken as a sample. An impulse loader... well loads the impulse wav samples. Check the amp sims sticky, there's some in there.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!