In the past month I've really progressed my playing by forming 2 bands and jamming with them once a week. I've written about 3-4 songs in the past month based around metalcore,

However my "in the moment" song writing isn't the best and I feel like it needs to improve. I have no issue sitting down with my guitar and busting out some decent riffs I'm happy with over the course of an hour or two, generally by listening to bands I like and think, "hey that's a cool sound, what if I do something similar but do this instead of that" etc.

But I'm not very good at say jamming with the drummer "in the moment"

Does anyone have suggestions to kinda improve that? any good backing tracks maybe for say metal / metalcore or something to get me started in those terms,

I've also made decent progress in sitting down and learning the major scale and minor scale using the WWHWWWH for the major scale, and WHWWHWW for the minor scale to help increase my lead ability as well and the ability to create solos "in the moment"

I'm just looking on some further tips and advice on how to progress further from here, as I've been playing covers for the past 3 years and feel like it's time to ditch covers and start creating original work with bands.
To be honest, I'm sure if there's an easy way to teach a jam session. A jam session is just based on improvisation, and if you've been playing mostly covers. Your ability to improvise might be lacking. How long have you been playing entirely?

Here's what I would do to try and work on this:

1. Use a metronome, or free drum machine and play along with an actual beat.
2. Avoid covering songs for a while and don't write any music, just work on spontaneous riffs.
3. Try to break away from metal a bit -- Basic rock n' roll and blues are both excellent 'jam genres'.

Hope this helps. Good luck bro!
Paul Reed Smith CE-24 2005 and Santana SE with Seymour Duncan pickups.
Line 6 Amplifiers
Boss Effects and Steve Vai's Wah Pedal