Hi,

I'm currently looking for an amp suitable for small gigs (slightly bigger than a pub i guess). I've searched around through a few Marshalls, the VOX AC30 and the Line 6 Spider MKII 112 (which was my favorite out of them all). However whilst browsing I found the Line 6 POD HD500. Whilst testing it out through a monitor, it blew away all the other amps i'd tried, both in quality and variability of tone.

My question is, is it possible I could play these venues without an amplifier? While practicing by myself I always use head phones (I have a Spider 3 30 watt) and all of the places im likely to play in the future have their own PA system that I could use.

My budget is around £500 to £600, which nicely encompasses either an all tube amp or the POD.

I play and love really effect driven music such as Muse, but I also write & record my own through a Zoom G2.1Nu multi-effects pedal. I'm a competant guitarist. I can play all of Muse's tracks with ease and am currently trying to learn some Steve Vai (I would Love to).

Thanks

Orxris
My Gear

Guitar
- Line 6 JTV89 Variax
- Ibanez s570
- Yamaha Pacifica 112 XJ
- Line 6 Spider III
- Line 6 Spider Valve MKII 212
- Line 6 POD HD500x

Synthesizer
- Roland Gaia SH-01
Well, obviously as long as you have a PA system with monitors, you should be fine. I'd take the POD over the Spider Valve personally, but you are throwing yourself at the mercy of the soundguy.
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
If you like the sounds and function and you are sure there will always be a PA you can play through, the HD500 is fine. You like it + it works = obvious choice. It would be a good idea to get a basic clean amp to run it into, though, so you can be sure you'll always have something to amplify it.