I've been playing guitar for almost 3 years now, (seriously only for a few months).
I feel like i'm over practicing and not getting anything done, I've been trying to learn the bark at the moon solo for ages and haven't been able to pull it off, with rubbish tabs not having the correct notes, and me just not having the capability to do it. I think i'm a pretty rubbish guitarist considering i've been playing for 3-4 years...
What can I do to help develop alternate picking, being able to play faster.
I don't feel like i'm going anywhere.
Quote by jimi_br4e
I've been playing guitar for almost 3 years now, (seriously only for a few months).
I feel like i'm over practicing and not getting anything done, I've been trying to learn the bark at the moon solo for ages and haven't been able to pull it off, with rubbish tabs not having the correct notes, and me just not having the capability to do it. I think i'm a pretty rubbish guitarist considering i've been playing for 3-4 years...

I also have the same feelings and I have been playing for 3-4 years too. I don't feel like I'm fast enough. But you just need to practice it slowly. Play it so slowly that you can play it cleanly. If you are forcing yourself to play it, you might play it with a wrong technique. So play slowly and increase the speed a bit every now and then. And by "a bit" I mean 2-3bpm and if you can do it easily, increase it with another 2-3bpm until you reach the speed where you can't play it cleanly any more. Then drop the speed a bit and practice at that tempo. You can still play it cleanly. Speed comes over time, it won't come instantly.
Quote by slap-a-bass
skip that song for now, learn a bunch of others then come back to it

thats a good way to start progressing again

This is also good advice.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48