Ok so I'm about to quit the band I'm in now because the singer is the classic arrogant stereotype of the singer( he doesn't even write the music though he just sings). But, I brought two of my songs to the band that they all really liked. So how do I make sure they don't keep playing my songs in the future, or record them?
Legally, if you wrote the songs 100% yourself, they are yours. If any of the other band members even suggested that you change just one word in the song, they have some ownership. Same with the music, if another member helped you with that, you both own it.

I'm not a lawyer so i'm not sure how you'd go about making sure they don't record or play your songs. You should record them first.
Honestly I wouldn't worry about it. There's not really anything you can do to stop them from playing them. You could copyright them to insure that you receive royalties if they do record it, & it becomes a hit or something. But unless they hit it big there's really no point unless you wanna spend a fortune suing over a stack of quarters they owe you.
I'm an
Engeneer
Enginear
Enginere

I'm Good at Math
Well...You could copyright the lyrics and melody. That way at least you would own it and *IF* they miraculously made it big they could owe you royalties. Still. There's almost no way you're going to able to stop them from playing the songs unless you have a lot of money and nothing better to do and there's a good chance it won't matter anyway.

EDIT: Well shoot. That's what I get for going to get my coffee mid post.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Start a new band and play the songs better. If they like the songs they're not gonna stop playing them, and you shouldn't expect them too because as a band the songs belong to all of you in some way or another.