http://news.eshac.com/?p=858

Wanted to throw this out to the forum for discussion. What's your opinion here? Is the article true? Simplistic? Exaggerated?

Give it a read and post your comments.
For a general listener, I would say most of it is true. People who are really into music or are musicians themselves tend to notice every member of the band more. The article does do a bit of generalizing because there are tons of bassists who are more active in a live situation.
The uneducated casual listener would agree with the first part. People who have a good sense for music, and all the layers within a song would tell you how important bass is. Without it a song would sound hollow. This doesn't apply to everything, such as the White Stripes, but you get the idea. I'm a guitarist who plays bass in a band so I easily make and laugh at bassist jokes.
A bassist is never late, nor is he early, he arrives precisely when he means to.

The Pit operates under a pseudo-Murphy’s Law state of mind. You can make a comment and "whatever wrong assumption that can be made about it, will be made about it."
How many bassists does it take to screw in a lightbulb?

One. He does it very well but nobody cares.

I feel like the people who do not give bass respect are many metal/ rock musicians. There is so much high end in these genres and guitars are often downtuned. The bass will act more like a second guitar with little rhythmic variation. It is an extension of classical music where bass generally did not play a huge role.
"Yes, we do sell out, every single time, everywhere we play." -Jason Newsted

#1 member of the "UG kids are a bunch of retards club" dont PM me
"There are a few exceptions. Notably, Sting of the Police, Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy, Paul McCartney of the Beatles and Lemmy Kilmeister of Motorhead."