Hello!

I'm a beginner of classical guitar and have played a few months now.

My new teacher strongly suggests that I get myself a new classical guitar. The one I have been playing so far cost about 300 $ back when my parents bought it, just to have one at hand in the family.

My new teacher thinks it definitely makes sense for me to upgrade to a better guitar now.

Although I'm not a friend of buying too many guitars, equipment, etc., I see the point that a new, better guitar can make sense at some point.

The teacher suggested guitars by "Antonio Loriente". They are made in Spain and supposed to be quite good concert guitars for "affordable" prices.

Does anyone know the Antonio Loriente guitars and what do you think of them? What other brands can be recommended that have good quality and a price that should not be much more than 2200$ ?

http://www.gypsyjazzguitars.com/guitar/flamenco/loriente/loriente.html

Thnaks for any advice!
giutar
If you're paying $2200 and getting a lacquered top, I wouldn't really bother. It wouldn't really be a 'concert' instrument at all. There would be a massive improvement on the $300 guitar you currently own but it would still be considered an instrument more suited to study rather than performance.

It really depends on the kind of sound you're going for too with a concert instrument. Take a look at different kinds of guitar construction, lattice guitars are getting quite popular (though it's my understanding many European players prefer the traditional construction/sound) and so are double-tops. You're probably not going to get a great guitar for $2200...if you're looking into getting into classical guitar seriously, I would probably aim at around 5-6k for the lowest level concert instruments.

Honestly, if you're looking at concert instruments, it's time to leave brand names and start looking at individual luthiers and commissioning an instrument yourself (or buying one they've already made if you like it).