hey guys, so im a total noob when it comes to this stuff. basically, im buyng an avatar cab. ive decided im going with some greenbacks. but im not sure if I can/should run all greenbacks. ill be running into a Egnater vengeance 120w head. I thought about 2 greenbacks and 2 g12h30's. bad idea? what do I look for when it comes to ohms and watts for each speaker?
Quote by Vicious_Turtle
hey guys, so im a total noob when it comes to this stuff. basically, im buyng an avatar cab. ive decided im going with some greenbacks. but im not sure if I can/should run all greenbacks. ill be running into a Egnater vengeance 120w head. I thought about 2 greenbacks and 2 g12h30's. bad idea? what do I look for when it comes to ohms and watts for each speaker?

What can your Egnater run? 4,8,16 ? Or 4,8 or 8,16?

What are the wattage of the greenbacks?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
Your cabinet should have higher wattage and ohms.
A lot of people tell you the ohms HAVE to match, but they don't; it's still probably a good idea to match them if you can though.
Your cab shouldn't have higher ohms - just higher wattage. Depending on the amp, there's some wiggle room on the impedance, but given the choice, it would be foolish not to just match them. Your amp runs more efficiently when matched.

You usually want a bit of a buffer, too, so I would not use 4 greenbacks with a 120 watt amp. Traditionally, the more distortion you play with, the more wattage you want from your speakers. Most high-gain amps sound best with minimal power and speaker breakup.
Quote by Sullinger
Your cabinet should have higher wattage and ohms.
A lot of people tell you the ohms HAVE to match, but they don't; it's still probably a good idea to match them if you can though.