Phew, haven't posted here in awhile.

Well, a few months ago I started playing guitar again after a few year hiatus. (shame on me i know)

Anyways, I told myself if I keep playing, then a month from now after I save up the $$$ I'm going to buy myself a real Fender.

I currently have a Squier Affinity Strat SSS and an Ibanez RG320.

Well, I love the Ibanez but I think I like the feel of the strat better, and I want a nicer one.

I was thinking a candy red standard HSS strat but then I stumbled upon the "Modern Player" strats. That white one looks nice, and the specs look similar to the Standards. But, from my research, they are made in China while the standards are made in Mexico. How much do you think this will affect the quality of the instrument? Is the MP just a nicer squier with fender slapped on the headstock or is it just as nice as the standard for $100 less?

If the extra $100 for the standard will get me a substantially better instrument, that's fine by me but if it will fit my needs just as well as the standard, I won't mind saving the extra money.

I play mostly classic/modern rock with a bit of heavier metallica-type songs thrown in there; so I figured an HSS strat will fit my needs perfectly. My amp is a Crate V18.

Thanks!
You should try both MIM and MIC versions. If you come across one you fall in love with, buy it. Opinions about the MIC Modern Player Fenders are very split. Honestly, I hear exactly the same complaints about Modern Player that I do about MIM. Basically, people get stuck with extremely crappy guitars that happen to be MIM/MIC, then they sort of extrapolate to mean that either MIM Fenders suck, or Modern Player sucks or whatever.