Hey guys, besides my work with my band I also enjoy doing some "filmmaking". I am currently in what you could call film school, so a lot of stuff is for class. I made this short film (only 1 min long) for a contest. Hopefully some of ya'll will enjoy it. I would welcome any constructive criticism you may have (i am VERY new at this). I would also love to check out any work you guys may have as far as this sort of thing goes. Networking FTW! Enjoy, feel free to share and subscribe if you so desire.

http://youtu.be/MvBs3FSlLZo
that guy has stunning hearing to be able to hear a phone ringing off in the woods
It's over simplified, So what!

Quote by eGraham
I'm going to be on top of what is called a knob
Quote by theguitarist
Big ones can be fun in some ways but generally, they are a pain in the ass.
Quote by Wolfinator-x
I don't know what is going on in this thread or why I have an erection.
Good stuff, op. Especially the music and how you used it was really good.
That was fantastic, especially the music...
I just found your beanie/hat/thing really really distracting
I actually thought the music was unnecessary and detracted from the mood. Sound is clearly integral to the narrative. There are various points you carefully placed sounds: The door closing, the slap, the swings. These get buried under the music. The very end when the cell phone rings cutting through the silence is the pivotal moment. If you use silence strategically it makes the points where sound effects are strategically placed much more effective.
BOOM-SHAKALAKALAKA-BOOM-SHAKALAKUNGA
It's decent for a beginner's trial. Overall just a little choppy to me and doesn't have a strong coherence in the pacing/editing. The composition of your shots could be stronger as well. And as someone who specializes in film scoring, I don't think the music worked at all. Neither cues were the right tone and pacing for the story.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM