I've been playing guitar for about 7 years, but I'm new to tube amps. I've been looking at the Egnater Tweaker-40 lately and I really like it. I mainly play blues and rock'n'roll, and I don't gig very often, though I would like to start recording soon. My question is whether the Egnater Tweaker would be a good purchase for me, or if there are better tube amps in a similar price range ($700-$1000). Any help?
I've got the Tweaker 40 head.
Great little unit, never let me down.

The settings do make it really versatile although if you've played through a real AC30 the AC EQ setting is close, not 100% accurate in it's reproduction.
I have it fairly traditionally set up - one channel clean, with a little break up at volume and the other as a crunch channel. If I need anything extra there's a pedal nearby to accomplish it.
Although it's just as easy to have a classic rock gain channel and then the other set for lead; a little louder and tighter.

The effect loop is switchable, too, which is handy if you use a few units at a time and don't want to tap dance.

A couple of weeks ago I was recording demos for a friend and used it (through a borrowed Orange 2x12) and it was excellent. Between that, my SG and a Tele I had every tone I needed to hand and barely even used effects (a little delay, if I recall). No overdrive or distortion boxes.

Go try one and test it with a couple of different guitars and, if trying the head - try a few different cabs with it.
It's an opinion. It's subjective. And I'm right, anyway.
i have the 40 and its fantastic. it has a ton of tonal options, good headroom if you need it but it really excels at breakup which is great for blues / rock tones.

it can pushed a lil bit of higher gain but you need an OD and boost, can do hard rock and perhaps some bedroom metal, but for live playing it really isnt a metal amp.

the thing that sold me is that is it very usable at low volumes!!!!