Hey!

I heard that it is good to record yourself practicing, so thats what i want to do. I, however, am a complete newbie when it comes to technical stuff, but im guessin to get the best sound is to plug the guitar into the pc, right?

What do i need to get for this, and what stuff do you guys recommend (budget stuff is well enough for me)

Thanks!
You can just plug it in the mic in, but it will be totally clean dry sound. If you download some kind of Amp sim program you'll have all the effects you ever need. For free you can get GR5 demo and Reaper to record, all great tone recording for free.

you just need a cable and a 1/8th inch converter jack or buy an interface
Last edited by Tempoe at Apr 17, 2013,
The best way to do this is to go to the recordings forum and read the Interfaces sticky.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
If your computer has like a built in mic and you don't care about good quality you can get Audacity for free, it's a really good program for what it is and for all you need to do
"It's not about who has the biggest stick, it's about how hard you can swing it"
Quote by Doomball
Hey!

I heard that it is good to record yourself practicing, so thats what i want to do. I, however, am a complete newbie when it comes to technical stuff, but im guessin to get the best sound is to plug the guitar into the pc, right?

What do i need to get for this, and what stuff do you guys recommend (budget stuff is well enough for me)

Thanks!

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1282549
Squier Strat
Behringer Fuzz
GFT-90
Quote by M_16A
If your computer has like a built in mic and you don't care about good quality you can get Audacity for free, it's a really good program for what it is and for all you need to do