My bass player and I were having a disagreement about this during rehearsal last night. It's of his opinion that the master of each channel be turned down the final output be turned up. I usually have the gain on channel 2 at about 1:00 and the master pegged. He was blaming that on a lot of the feedback problems we have @ rehearsals. So he opted to turn down the master and turn up the gain. I thought there was some loss of tone.

The other issue is that 1/2 our songs are clean and 1/2 distortion or heavy. With a live show coming up, this is still an issue for me. I switch from a good tone with ample volume on channel 2 and then switch to channel 1 clean and have to use the solo boost switch to compensate for the volume loss.

Is this right? Or should I shut off the effects loop in the back and just use the masters on channel 1 and 2 as the final output volume? I haven't tried this yet. I'm just wondering what I'm supposed to do. I'm mainly a guitarist and songwriter and singer. I don't know much about this stuff.

Thanks in advance.
Use the master volume if you use the fx loop.

Set channel one's volume for the tone you want, and set the master to the volume you need it to be. Then tweak your channel two's volume to match channel one.

If you don't use the fx loop, adjust the channel volume of each channel to match each.
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
If you have the FX loop not bypassed you have a volume for each channel and the a master volume.

I got ninja'd.

I would not have either the channel or the master pegged. Work them together.

If you want to turn the FX loop off you have to work the channel volumes to be level.

Are the channels on the same wattage? For lots of headroom have them at 90w.

Try to be more specific so we can better help.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr