I'm primarily a guitarist but I played bass briefly in high school while I was with the band at church and I really enjoyed it but when I left the band I pretty much quit and sold my bass to a friend. But now I'm thinking about picking it up again.

My question isn't really what's the best bass because I know since I play strats I want something from fender.

It's more should I go with a precision or a jazz bass, what's a good amp and what else do I need? (like do I need pedals and all that?)

My main influences are clapton, arctic monkeys and Paramore. And I don't really want to go used.

Budget is not really an issue since I'm going to save and eat hot pockets for the next few weeks to finance it. Though I would like to keep it fairly low, and amp wise I don't need to blow the house down. Just something to practice with that will sound good
if you want something along the lines of fender, look at the vm jazz - or p - from squier. their basses are held to a higher regard than their guitars from what i've heard. they are even comparable or perhaps even better than the mexican made fenders.
as for amps check the faq at the top its pretty comprehensive of the best 'beginner' amps. only go for pedals if you want to, they aren't a necessity - unless you are playing some crazy synthyfuzzwubs (or if you forget to remove them from your basket online and don't bother to check the price
DONT RISK IT, BUY A BASS AMP
Quote by rander7917
I'm primarily a guitarist but I played bass briefly in high school while I was with the band at church and I really enjoyed it but when I left the band I pretty much quit and sold my bass to a friend. But now I'm thinking about picking it up again.

My question isn't really what's the best bass because I know since I play strats I want something from fender.

It's more should I go with a precision or a jazz bass, what's a good amp and what else do I need? (like do I need pedals and all that?)