-- this paragraph is just background story, skip if impatient :P --
I've been playing piano for 5 years, and I recently bought an acoustic guitar to be my 2nd instrument. I like jamming the songs I know and the cool strumming patterns, solo's, etc. I kinda regret not buying a bass, however, because I already know quite a few bass lines such as Metallica, Pink Floyd, even some jazz and I personally like bass better. Anyway, I decided to buy a cheap bass to fulfill my needs, but I don't have money for a decent amp.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sooo, my question is: Can I use the Home Theater (5.1 sort of thing - I believe it's not 100% 5.1 xD) I have at home as my bass amp? I don't mind if the sound will be bad, because I'll only use it for practice, but I wanna know if it will work at all. I connected my digital piano to the system once and the sound was satisfactory, the amplified bass really stood out. I'm afraid, however, that the bass will work different from the piano, because the piano has its own speakers and maybe is configured differently from the way the bass is, so I don't know. Both have line-out though...

If the home theater won't work, will my PC speakers do? I don't wanna record, I wanna practise on it.
I'm guessing if you've done this before then I'm going to assume it has a line in. It's going to be a fair bit hit and miss if you don't have a preamp to bring your signal up to line level though. If you want one of those on the cheap check out the Behringer BDI21, it's cheap and very comparable to the Sansamp BDDI it's like $50 or something like that. With a decent sounding preamp (like that) then as long as your system has a decent crossover to keep it from damaging any speakers then it should actually sound quite good.