Dear UG'ers,

I'm new to this world and need some advice on types of electrical guitar.
I'm a beginner, and want to play power metal songs. Mostly Sonata Arctica/Stratovarius style.
Now I need to know which model of guitar would be best to begin with, I was thinking about a Squier Stratocaster (cheap and reliable), sounds nice on youtube. But if anyone has a better idea, I'm open for them!

Thanks in advance :-)
as an owner of a V, LP-typ, and super strat type guitar that loves to play power metal, Ill have to say(opinion) the absolute best shape for beginner, intermediate, and advanced playing is the superstrat. LP-type guitars are nice for rythm, but they can be quite frustrating for lead playing(from experience with my LTD EC-256). My V feels awkward to play in general, so I wouldnt recommend the shape to anyone. but thats just my personal opinion there, alot of people like Vs, but they take getting used to.

the superstrat shape is by far the most balanced Ive played. feels natural to play it on my leg, in classical position, or standing up. and the double cutaway on most superstrats is very convenient for leads and rythm. my experience with my first guitar ever(ibanez rg321) has been great just because of the comfort in playing it. slim neck, and neck accesibility is a must for power metal.

of course, Ill repeat, this is all my opinion. someone quite possibly will say something entirely different and it might be just as valid as my opinion. Id highly recommend the ibanez rg321 to any player in general if they want a good affordable guitar. i believe its the best budget guitar on the planet.
Marty Friedman is GOD!

curently in a SEX MACHINEGUNS and X JAPAN phase AND Galneryus AND Anthem phase

damn J-Metal, why you so awesome

My Gear:

Schecter Hellraiser V-1 fr
Ibanez RG321mh
Fender GDC-200sce
Peavey Vypyr 30 w/ sanpera 1
Last edited by bustapr at Apr 22, 2013,