I know there's a guide here for buying a guitar, but I already knew most of that stuff.

I started playing guitar 9 years ago on my dad's old rusty-stringed acoustic. My dad bought me a new washburn a year later and I've been playing since. I feel like s*** though since my dad has had his decrepit guitar for a really long time and never once complained about it. I wouldn't be the guitarist I am now were it not for my dad. So this father's day, I want to get my dad a guitar.

Only problem is that I don't have any experience (never bought one)..

My dad is by no means a good guitarist (he never had the opportunity to learn chords or music theory), so i think the only quality that is relevant for him would be overall quality. I just want to find my dad something special that won't destroy a college student's pockets.

I would REALLY appreciate any advice or help. You have no idea how much this would mean to my dad. I'm hoping to score on a sale somewhere sometime between now and father's day but i don't even know where to shop for the best deals. (Also, are pawn shops decent places to look?)
Last edited by kamikrazi123 at May 1, 2013,
Without knowing your budget, I can still suggest a Yamaha or Seagull.

Pawn Shops are only good places to look if you actually know how to shop for guitars.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at May 1, 2013,
if you're not experienced, pawn shops are not a good place to look - most of the guitars i see in pawn shops have problems, and some aren't obvious unless you know what to look for.