Greetings!

So I am a noob...I play piano and violin a little and want to take on the guitar.
Looks are very important as it is going to be on the living room wall next to my grand piano. So looking good is crucial as I am not sure how much playing time I can get.
Must be a dark red mahogany or similar...so...

I can get a used (but mint condition) Epiphone SG Special for $115 with a GX112 Blue Devil Guitar Amp or a Schecter Diamond Tempest Custom Red ($220) used but with lots of scrtaches so I need to get a scratch remover kit.

It has upgraded pickups.

What would you do?

Thanks!
You have a grand piano on your living room wall?
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin
More seriously, if you really want to learn to play and can afford it, start with a better instrument. Given that you have a grand piano, it's likely that you understand the difference...while I have no doubt that you could play a cheap upright, we both know it wouldn't feel or sound the same.

So it goes with guitars. You may not need or want the guitar equivalent of a Bösendorfer, but you probably want to avoid the Casio keyboard equivalents...
Charles Darwin
Oh yes I fully understand what you mean...right now it is more of a decor thing to be honest, but I know I will be playing cause, well, that is what musicians do..we cannot help it
I am just not able to afford much right now as the grand is taking a grand chunk of money and I am just a poor musician lol
So you dont think either of those will be decent to get me started at least?
Thanks!
Quote by shaolin95
Oh yes I fully understand what you mean...right now it is more of a decor thing to be honest, but I know I will be playing cause, well, that is what musicians do..we cannot help it
I am just not able to afford much right now as the grand is taking a grand chunk of money and I am just a poor musician lol
So you dont think either of those will be decent to get me started at least?
Thanks!