Frankly, I look at this and it's my dream to be able to do: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4UM2CztoP4

I'm not an entire beginner. I can play some riffs that require some basic ability - Tornado of Souls is probably the most advanced rhythm part I can play. (Yeah, I know it's not that hard of a song - but it's a bit beyond beginner level at least) I can play the solo to Aesthetics of Hate, so there's a little bit of soloing in me. Crystal Mountain is the most advanced song I can play 100% (rhythm and take over soloing when it comes on) But in general I'd classify myself as... not much of a player.

With regular singer/songwriter stuff it's pretty easy to work toward getting better - lots of programs that set you up on some roads to advancement by building chording ability and learning lots of songs that make use of those basic chords. And that stuff helps - I can play acoustic singer/songwriter songs pretty decently now. But there's nothing like that for metal - no free program layouts that let you build and build til you can play impressive stuff.

So where do I start to get some structure and competency and musicianship to my metal playing? And how do I proceed and continue getting better? I feel like all I'd know to do is take a tab from some relatively crazy song and just grind on it for months... there's got to be some method.

As you can see from my join date I've been playing for a few years. But I basically am not making progress in the metal department. I have no idea how to practice to get better. I take out the electric for a while and start feeling like I'm wasting time and getting nowhere, and end up just going and practicing singing+playing acoustic at the same time instead since I feel I can actually improve each session with that.
Last edited by Eag1e at May 1, 2013,
Well there are a couple of things i believe can help that people might see me post every other day now as a reply, but that's cause i do believe this is true.