Hello

My apologies if this simpleton topic violates any rule or has been asked a zillion times before.

But... would you reccommend to a beginner electric guitarist or advice against using amp modeling software (guitarix, etc.) instead of a real amp?

Of course I already have a laptop and some nice external speaker system, so I'd rather not get a real amp unless it's highly reccommended for some reason.

Note that I'm just a beginner. I won't be gigging or recording, just playing for myself.
i'd just get a small amp. you can get one that is decent for a beginner at $100.

do you already have an audio interface for plugging your guitar into your laptop? cuz one of those might already cost you $100.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
I'd just get an amp if I was you. Most have a headphone jack for quiet play, and it's important to understand how gain and feedback effect tone, which is something that a modeling program wont give you.
I started out with Guitar Rig, and I don't regret it at all. It isn't as cheap as a beginner's amp, but the range of tones you can craft with it inspired me to play guitar every day.

If you decide to go the amp route, a Yahama THR10 is one of the best "beginner" amps I have ever played through. If you want to keep it at about $100, I recommend a Roland Micro Cube.
"Notes are expensive, spend them wisely." - B.B. King