(entry note: my first choice would've been trying both guitars at a store, I'm more concerned about actually playing them than anything else, but in my country we don't have that kind of stores, so I'm stuck with an online buy)

I'm a newbie looking to buy my first electric guitar. So I've fallen in love with teles, and so I ultimately came between two squier models.

First is the Vintage Modified Custom for $250

Second it's the Vintage Modified Series 301260506 , which apparently is an upgrade to the first one, for $300 ($50 more)

Suposedly, they're both really good for their price. There seems to be many things different: better pickups, different neck finishes, etc. In general, I don't doubt the second one is actually the better one; but that's not my case here.

What I'm mainly concerned about is the wood of the bodies. See, the first one has an agathis body, the second one basswood. Now I'm aware both are apparently cheap woods, I'm ok with that. It's my first guitar, after all.

I'm concerned about this because it is such a permanent aspect of the guitar... The pickups, for example, I can change later; the body not so much (again: I do not know much, you probably can; but I'm guessing it's not recommended?) I've read in some places that basswood apparently is better than agathis... I was wondering if someone could tell me something about that. Or even better, if someone around here owns/has tried one of the guitars so they can give me their opinions.

I would actually prefer to just spend $250 and upgrade later, but if basswood is actually that much better, I would be willing to give those extra $50. So, I guess my questions are:

Is basswood really a better wood than agathis? Are the extra $50 worth for a
basswood body instead of an agathis body?

EXTRA QUESTION: I've read in many places that Alder bodies are better than basswood and agathis... so how come the Affinity teles, the cheapest models, have an alder body? I don't get it...