Hi guys,

I was wondering if I've been playing too much guitar, my hands are getting a bit fatigued and tired recently. I've played everyday since I've started just over 3 years ago (bar 1 day I think) not 6 hours a day but you know sometimes a couple hours sometimes just 30 minutes. I started learning some Jason Becker so I've been playing a bit more on average and afterwards my hands are a little sore or stiff, should I calm down for a couple of days or a week or something or is it just my endurance from playing more? Anyone had the same thing happen?

Cheers
taking a day off form playing usually helps me if youve been playing everysingle day
one off might be good for you

but if youre experiencing pain you might have to take a look at your technique
Playing until you're fatigued or experience a little cramping isn't too bad or unusual, but if you're playing 'till you literally hurting, you should cut back. You could be doing damage.

If you cut down your practice time for a while, then ramp up again and the pain returns, it might be the signs of a current or impending repetitive stress injury, focal dystonia or a few other conditions. In that case, see a physician.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at May 11, 2013,
Are you stretching and warming up?

I recently had a herniated cervical disk and one of the symptoms was fatigue in my arms and hands. I'd play for a bit and it would seem like my hands were tired. If you get pins and needles, tingling, aches in your arms, fingers, wrists, hands or shoulders resembling those symptoms go see your Doctor.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.

Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.

Blasphemy! You can never play too much!