Dear Ultimate Guitar,

I'm a musician/guitarist. I have long hair and it is sort of like my Samson locks, you follow? Aside from bringing me comfort and the fact that I have havn't cut it in 3 years, I feel like it's also part of MY look as a "wanna-be" entertainer. (I currently get zero exposure )

Well, my friend has asked me to be a groomsman in his wedding and requested I cut it off, high and tight for the photos. I've known for a year and each passing week brings me closer to mourning the loss of my long hair.

What should I do? What would you do?

I thought, what better forum than a group of guitarists/artists to seek advice on the subject.

Signed,
Samson in Mourning
Been a few confessionals in MT lately. probably better suited to the pit which is for all general (non music) related topics. Your hair is not really music related. So although this is Musician's Talk it's still for discussing music.

As for your friend's request - it's completely unreasonable for him to expect you to cut your hair because that's how he wants you look for one day. Chances are it's his fiancée that's driving it, either way it's a bridezilla type request, selfish and kind of rude to be honest.

You need to look good obviously and put in some effort. You might even visit a hairdresser and get some advice on what you can do with your hair, maybe even try a couple of styles out to make sure you will know what you're going to do with it on the day.

I wouldn't cut it if I were you.
Si
Long hair just looks awful. It's 2013, not 1985. Long hair isn't going to help you gain exposure as an entertainer. In fact, it's probably doing the opposite. Stop trying to craft an immature / amateur image as a guitar metalhead and actually work on...you know...being a great musician.

Getting noticed as a musician by actually being good at music. Is that crazy or what?

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM