Hello UG community. I'm in a new band and were getting ready to record, all of my previous recording experience was just Live recordings out of the mixer. I don't have any computer related recording gear or hardware.

I would like to know what a decent set up for recording direct out of a preamp into a computer would involve. We use reaper to record all of our band stuff, most of its done at another band mates house. We has some sound card with a guitar jack in it, and a weird tube preamp thing thats used for vocals, anyways.

I think I will need some type of guitar interface, and a loadbox maybe but I'm not sure what I need exactly, I'm new to this sort of thing. I would like to hear whats trendy and popular on the net these days for home recording. I have an engl e530 pre amp, and a modded ada mp1, with a mesa power amp.
Please refer to the "Recording Interfaces - A buyer's guide" sticky. That should answer most of your questions. As far as a loadbox goes, you have two nice preamps, you don't need a loadbox, just plug them directly into the recording interface and run a cabinet impulse on them.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
So I dont have to worry about blowing and computer stuff ... ?
Quote by AJvdb
So I dont have to worry about blowing and computer stuff ... ?

Huh?

A preamp doesn't require a loadbox, or a load of any kind.
Quote by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com