I'l start off by saying that I've always used JJ valves, I bought my 5150 in november 2004. It had old Electro Harmonix valves in there that were pretty dead, so in January 2005 I took it to a tech and he replaced them with a set of JJ's that everyone had been raving about.

I also bought an amp from the tech that he had built, which also had JJ's. I then later revalved my 5150 (again with JJs) and last year I bought my dream amp, a Cornford Hellcat... which believe it or not had JJ's in it. So I have no experience in my own amps with anything other than JJ valves. I always see people suggest different types of valves, some more expensive ones and I get to thinking I'd like to experiment.

So coming june my amp is going to be out on the road with some pretty heavy day to day usage and so I feel it is time to revalve. But I'd like to try something other than JJ's

It's 2 channel amp with a Vintage and Modern channel, the Modern being high gain, 4x EL84 power amp valves putting out around 35w, the preamp has 5 valves. I'l be playing into it with a Strat using a Seymour Duncan JB Jr in the bridge position and Fender single coils mid/neck, in CGCFAD tuning playing rock/metal with a decent ammount of gain, but not excessive.

Example -
https://soundcloud.com/bluelightride/blue-light-ride-define-freedom - This is about as heavy as it gets in regards to gain requirements and its unlikely we would be going into full on metal territory.

So give me some suggestions for quality valves that aren't JJ, more specifically the preamp valves, I want to experiment with different sounds, so that I can get a better understanding of what I like.
Cornford Hellcat
Peavey 5150
1994 Ibanez Jem 7V
Last edited by Bigbazz at May 15, 2013,
RFT is a great preamp tube. I put one in my stiff amps Dirthead and it sounds great. A bit expensive, but worth it in my opinion.

Can't go wrong with JAN GE 5751 or JAN Phillips 5751.
What is your budget for tubes?
Quote by DeathByDestroyr