Hi Guys,

I have been playing guitar on and off for a few years. Trying to decide between getting pedals or a multi fx unit – not sure which way to go. Decent pedals might sound better but multi fx might be better bang for buck.

Main sounds I want are clean sound, to slight grit/crunch to an overdrive/distortion. Might even look at adding a volume boost for leads.

Pedal options – Wampler Ego Compression, Cmat mods Signa, Timmy – or ?
Multi Fx options – Vox Tonelab, Line 6 HD 500, Line 6 M9/13, Boss GT100 – or ?

Trying out the pedals before I buy is not an option where I live. The multi fx units are around here in stores. If I go pedals I will buy a pedal board for them.

Current Gear – Les Paul (stock), Marshall DSL 401, Orange Dual Terror (will be getting rid of 1 amp – not sure which yet)
Music Style – classic rock
Location – Western Australia

So – what do you think ? Pedals or Multi Fx ?
If you need to switch multiple effects simultaneously or switch between different settings quickly, get a decent MFX. If you are just switching one or two pedals on and use pretty much the same setting throughout the gig, go for individual pedals.
It depends on the complexity of your effects usage.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Sounds like you only want overdrive from that list, unless you were just giving an example. In that case, I would go with the individual pedals like Cath said. You can't go wrong with either the Timmy or Signa Drive.

Also, run your rig without a compressor first to see if you like it or not before blowing cash on one.
Well for distortion it looks like your amps should have you covered. A tubescreamer/overdrive pedal is almost always a usable pedal.