So i've been playing for quite a while now, when I realised, I always play sitting down since i found it alot easier in the beginning.
But the time has come, i bought a guitar strap the other day, and i've been playing fine, I thought I was almost have to learn how to play again unless I kept the guitar chest height, but it's fine.

ONE PROBLEM - My back is absolutely killing me after a day of standing up playing, I realise it's probably a normal thing everyone goes through, just like when you begin playing, your fingertips hurt alot, but they toughen up after time.

So the question is - how long before i'll have no problems with back pain?
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
You mean standing up play all day long? That would hurt my back and i've been playing for 18 years. Depends on the weight of the guitar though really, my ESP is quite heavy so after a 3 hour session in the studio my shoulder can feel a bit tired.
Never. You're having back pains because something's causing it, I can't believe I have to tell you that it doesn't 'toughen up'. Your fingertips toughen because they callus. Your back won't callus or strengthen from playing guitar.

See a doctor or a physiotherapist if you're concerned.
Quote by SimplyBen
That's the advantage of being such a distance from Yianni. I can continue to live my life without fear of stumbling upon his dark terror.

Quote by Toppscore
NakedInTheRain aka "Naked with shriveled pencil sized bacon In The Rain"
You have several options.

Get a weight supporting strap. You can get some that distribute the weight better than a standard strap. This can be as simple as a really wide strap or a harness strap.

Get a lighter guitar.

Do some back exercises to strengthen the muscles in your back.

Play your guitar higher up your chest.

Play sat down.