hey guys

im a beginner, almost a week learning so far, ive learned 6 chords and am practicing changing quickly, not learned any songs yet.

Ive been looking at some tabs that i wanted to learn and i see things like 'capo 5th fret' and then the chords i already know.

So what i was wondering is if i capo on the 5th fret do i just play the chords as if i was playing open chords? say a D with capo and 5th fret, so i play as if there was no capo? I know its to do with pitch shifting for vocals etc, but i was wondering how using a capo works with my chords when i see theres also like 7 positions to play every chord as well?
With tabs they will tell you what chord to be played as if the capo was the nut of the guitar. So capo at 5th fret and D-chord means to just put the capo at the 5th fret and play a D chord like you'd normally play one.

You can look at something called the CAGED system to see how to play the same chord at a different fret.

So if you play an A chord in the open position, you can play one using a G-shape if you bar at the 2nd fret (place the capo at the second fret and play the G-chord formation and you will get an A chord).
The content of this signature is pretty much irrelevant
Quote by rock.freak667
With tabs they will tell you what chord to be played as if the capo was the nut of the guitar. So capo at 5th fret and D-chord means to just put the capo at the 5th fret and play a D chord like you'd normally play one.

You can look at something called the CAGED system to see how to play the same chord at a different fret.

So if you play an A chord in the open position, you can play one using a G-shape if you bar at the 2nd fret (place the capo at the second fret and play the G-chord formation and you will get an A chord).

right so the capo basically replaces understanding and applying the CAGED system? for ease in sharing tabs and repitching? so really as a beginner all i need to know is open chords and find capo chord tabs to play anything else?