Hey guys

I recently started learning guitar again and got myself a squire telecaster which is really nice for the price.

I have always wanted a SG and a Les Paul style guitar, im looking at epiphone due to my budget vs gibsons.

My question is, is there a large difference between the two? Im comparing a G-400 against a Standard Plus Top Pro. The price difference is quite a lot but im wondering how different they are as guitars.

I will try them out before purchase but am not near a guitar shop at the moment so doing my online research!
Oh god. We just done this, it wasn't pretty.

The amount of pieces to make the guitar are different. Gibson use 1 piece, sometimes 2 for the body, Epiphone use 3 pieces generally.
The neck on a Gibson is made of one piece, Epiphones are 3 piece, sometimes 2 pieces depending on the model but mostly 3.
The quality of wood. Honduras Mahogany for the Gibson and Asian for the Epiphones. Yep, it's cheaper to get the Asian and it's more easily acquired.
The inlays aren't painted on a Gibson.
The pickups.
The carved top vs veneer.
The binding.
The customer care.
The pickups.
The nitro.
The plek.
The history.

Go and play a few. There's a good few higher end Gibsons that are comparable to lower end Gibsons. IMO the Studios and upwards are much better than any Epiphones.
Quote by Shredwizard445
Go ahead and spend your money, I don't care. It won't make you sound better.

Quote by Shredwizard445
Sure upgrading your gear will make you sound better.

Last edited by Mephaphil at May 19, 2013,
Quote by Mephaphil
Oh god. We just done this, it wasn't pretty.

The amount of pieces to make the guitar are different. Gibson use 1 piece, sometimes 2 for the body, Epiphone use 3 pieces generally.
The neck on a Gibson is made of one piece, Epiphones are 3 piece, sometimes 2 pieces depending on the model but mostly 3.